WQA’s Silberhorn honored
WQA Meeting Services Director Angie Silberhorn, CMP, was honored with the 2020 Robert J. Donovan Award, given to an outstanding meeting professional who leads by example, inspires volunteerism and is committed to the growth of the industry. The award was presented by Greater Midwest Chapter of the Professional Convention Management Association in an afternoon ceremony in Chicago, IL. A Certified Meeting Professional, she came to WQA in time to participate in the 2021 Convention & Exposition in Las Vegas, NV, and to assist with final preparations for the 2021 Mid-Year Leadership Conference held in September. Silberhorn is set to direct major WQA events going forward, most notably the 2022 WQA Convention & Exposition in Orlando, FL April 6-8.

IAPMO honors announced
During IAPMO’s 92nd Annual Business Meeting opening session, 17 individuals who have gone above and beyond on behalf of the association were honored with the following awards for 2021: 20-plus years of committee membership: Dave Levanger, Tim Collings, Jordan Krahenbuhl, Dave Straub, Richard Church and Dick Wagner; Legislators of the Year: Texas State Rep. Senfronia Thompson and Nebraska State Sen. Justin Wayne; IWSH Award: Katie Ashley and Sarah Ceurvorst, Milwaukee School of Engineering and Jeremy Pavlich, Plumbers Local 68; Bruce Pfeiffer Committee Member of the Year: Bruce Pfeiffer, former Topeka, KS, senior plumbing inspector and IAPMO President (posthumous award); American Flag Award: Doug Marian, Southern California Pipe Trades District Council 16; Industry Person of the Year, Richard Lord, Plumbers Local Union 68; Government Person of the Year: Tom Pitcherello, New Jersey Department of Community Affairs, Codes and Standards Division; Joseph Kneidinger Sustainability Professional of the Year: Jim Kendzel, American Supply Association and George Kauffman Lifetime Achievement Award: Don Summers, retired former Assistant Director of Training for Plumbers and Pipefitters UA Local 562. Recently retired former IAPMO CEO GP Russ Chaney was honored by WorldSkills International with the Fellowship of WorldSkills Award recognizing outstanding contribution to WorldSkills and its global commitment to inspiring, showcasing and advancing skills excellence.

NGWA Excellence Award winners named
NGWA will present its annual awards during Groundwater Week in Nashville, TN, in December. Long-time NGWA member Art Becker, CPG, MGWC, NGWAF, was named recipient of the Ross L. Oliver Award for outstanding contributions to the groundwater industry. Awards of Excellence winners were: Otto Strack, PhD, M. King Hubbert Award; Robert Sterrett, PhD, Special Recognition Award; David Kill, PE, (retired), Robert Storm Intersectional Cooperation Award; Josh Clapper, Equipment Design Award; Neil Mansuy (posthumously), Technology Award; Ronnie Hensley (retired) and James Doesburg, Life Member Awards; US Senator Tom Carper (DE), Groundwater Protector Award and Robert P. Schreiber, PE, BCEE, DWRE, Standard Bearer Award.

Goulds awards announced
Goulds Water Technology, a Xylem brand, announced this year’s recipients of the Goulds Professional Deal Association scholarships. Sixteen students across the US will each receive a $1,500 scholarship. The scholarships will help students obtain higher education at college or technical school. The recipients included Grayson Wiggins, Christopher Nagle, Erin Saunders, Ashley Maggiora, Maggiora Bros Drilling Inc., Clayton Royall, Abbey Herendeen, Thomas Palermo, Hannah Wheeler, David Hartley, Jason Neidigh, Calvin Christensen, Taylor Newman, Jaxson Cadwallader, Lukas Adamek, Caroline Hilliard and Evelyn McKenny.

WEF honors announced
WEF announced the 2021 WEF Awards recipients for individuals and organizations that have made outstanding contributions to the sustainability of water resources and made a profound impact on the future of the water profession. They include Camp Applied Research Award: Dr. Bruce Rittmann; Engelbrecht International Service Award: Dr. Krishna R. Pagilla; W. Wesley Eckenfelder Industrial Water Quality Lifetime Achievement Award: Leonard Levine; Public Officials Award: County Executive Steven Bellone, Commissioner Mariyana Spyropoulos and Senator Sherrod Brown; Outstanding Young Water Environment Professional Award: Pono Hanson and Vanessa Borowski, and WEF Mentorship Award: Michael Sedon. WEF Fellowships were awarded to Janet Hurley Cann; Peter Cavagnaro; Sylvan Coles; Marlo R. Davis; Francis L. De Los Reyes III; Jennifer Hartfelder; Sidney Innerebner; Jacqueline Jarrell; Chris Johnston; Raynetta Curry Marshall; Kristin Morico; Erin Mosley; Aisha Niang; Christopher Peot and Prakasam Tata, The latest class of WEF Fellows were recognized during WEFTEC 2021 in October.


Comments are closed.