California student earns Junior Water Prize honors
Eshani Jha of San Jose, CA, was selected as the winner of the 2021 Stockholm Junior Water Prize. She conducted research on how to remove contaminants from freshwater by replacing active carbon with biochar for use in efficient and less costly water filters. Jha’s research, Thiol Functionalized and Manganese Dioxide Doped Biochar for the Removal of Toxic Organic and Inorganic Contaminants from Water, impressed the international judging panel with its global applicability, novel use of affordable and widely available material for filtering water, and its potential for scalability as a viable, impactful product.

McEllhiney Distinguished Lecturer named
Kevin McGillicuddy, Chief Hydrogeologist of Roscoe Moss Company, has been selected as the 2022 McEllhiney Distinguished Lecturer by NGWA and the Groundwater Foundation (GF). His 2022 McEllhiney Lecture, Surface and Groundwater Interaction—An Examination of the Natural and Man Made Ties That Bind Them, will provide an overview of the hydrologic cycle, focusing on the interaction between surface water and groundwater through both natural means and engineered programs. McGillicuddy holds a Bachelor of Science Degree in geology from Boston College and a Master of Science in geology from the University of Southern California. He currently serves on NGWA’s Well Standards Committee and is also a member of AWWA’s A100 Water Well Standards Committee.

Hara named US Water Alliance CEO
The US Water Alliance Board of Directors announced that Mami Hara will be the organization’s next CEO. She currently serves as General Manager and CEO of Seattle Public Utilities and previously served as First Deputy Commissioner at Philadelphia Water. Hara will continue to serve as the CEO of the Seattle Public Utilities until October 14 and will assume the role of CEO of the US Water Alliance on October 15.

Shah appointed IAMPO India Director
IAPMO India Private Limited has hired Nimish Shah, PhD, as Managing Director. A 25-year veteran of British multinational consumer goods company Unilever, he brings exceptional experience managing teams, building partnerships, driving innovation and implementing ambitious business plans. Most recently Shah served as Managing Director of India’s Toilet Board Coalition. As a knowledge partner for the Indian government, he helped set up a Global Sanitation Centre of Excellence. Shaw holds degrees in microbiology and business management, as well as a PhD in life sciences from the University of Mumbai.

Mah named WaterSurplus Chairman
WaterSurplus announced that Dr. Terry Mah has been named the chairperson of its new Executive Advisory Board (EAB). He will work with John Barelli, President of WaterSurplus, to select up to three additional advisors. With more than 25 years of experience as a leader in the global water and environmental services industries, Dr. Mah brings an unmatched level of expertise to the organization. His unique perspective will help shape the implementation of WaterSurplus’ long term strategic vision.

ASTM Scholarship winners announced
ASTM International announced the graduate student winners of four $10,000 scholarships for their studies in fields where technical standards play a crucial role. This year’s winners include Patricio Carrion, doctoral candidate at Auburn University studying mechanical engineering; Laura Luna, student member working towards her Master’s Degree in civil and environmental engineering at Dalhousie University; Alex Thomas, student member working towards his Master’s Degree at the University of Wisconsin (Stevens Point) and Omid Vakili, student member of the sports equipment, playing surfaces and facilities committee (F08)m experienced with ASTM International standards, particularly helmet safety. Undergraduate and graduate student members receive a front-row seat to the standards development process, allowing them to network with technical experts and participate in standards discussion.

AMTA/MTC award winners announced
Each year, the American Membrane Technology Association confers a number of prestigious awards to recognize exceptional individuals and organizations that are advancing the understanding and application of membrane technology to create safe, affordable and reliable water treatment solutions. This year’s winners include: Robert O. Vernon Operator of the Year winner John Carroll, City of San Diego Pure Water Demonstration Facility; Outstanding Member Award winner Troy Walker; Hall of Fame Award winners Craig Netwig; Lynn E. Applegate, PhD, Donald Hoyt Doud and Theodore J. Larson. Presidential and distinguished service awards went to Brent Alspach; David Brown; Don Flanagan; Harold Fravel; Julie Nemeth-Harn; Deena Reppen and Russ Swerdfeger.



Comments are closed.