The American Membrane Technology Association (AMTA) announced that four students have been awarded the AMTA ADC Fellowship Awards for 2017. The following students received part of the $10,000 allocated for this annual award: Alma Beciragic, graduate student at the University of North Carolina, is exploring the impact of disinfectants on the identity and concentration of RO/NF membrane leachates and whether they are able to permeate and react with subsequent disinfectants; Douglas Davenport, PhD candidate at Yale University, whose research centers on making robust thin-film composite membranes for energy-efficient desalination of hypersaline brines; Soyoon Kum, PhD candidate at the University of Texas at Austin, whose research is aimed at optimization for the removal of natural organic matter by an electrodialysis and RO combined system and Seyed Mahdi Seyed Shahabadi, PhD candidate at the University of Wyoming, who is studying bio-inspired, multi-applicable membranes prepared by combined electro-spinning and electro-spraying techniques for oil/water separation and sea water desalination by membrane distillation. The recipients will personally present their work as paper or poster presentations at the 2018 Membrane Technology Conference and Exposition (MTC), to be held in West Palm Beach, FL, March 12-16. The award monies are intended to support their research and to provide financial assistance for travel expenses related to the MTC attendance. Fellowships constitute a two-year award and applications will be accepted for these fellowships in 2018.


Comments are closed.