The National Ground Water Research and Educational Foundation gave Farvolden Awards of $1,000 to four students for paper or poster presentations made at the 2016 NGWA Groundwater Summit in Denver, CO. Given in honor of the late Dr. Robert N. Farvolden, former Science Counsel for the National Ground Water Association, the awards are made based on the quality of the presentation, content (including contribution to groundwater science, engineering, management or policy) and demonstrated insight on the chosen topic. Honored for their projects were Joshua W. Brownlow, Baylor University, Waco, TX, paper: Influence of Hydraulic Fracturing on Leaky Abandoned Wells; Matthew Hiebing, University of Texas at El Paso, poster: Combining Geochemisty and Geophysics to Pinpoint Sources of Salinity in the Rio Grande and the Relationship to Faults; Katelyn Kane, Northern Illinois University, DeKalb, IL, paper: Water Quality Impacts of Tourism in Quintana Roo, Mexico and Cynthia Kanno, Colorado School of Mines, Golden, CO, poster: Quantifying Potential for Spills at Unconventional Gas Well Sites to Impact the South Platte Aquifer.


Comments are closed.