Pickett named to Nelsen engineering staff

Nelsen Corporation has appointed mechanical engineer Justin Pickett to the Engineering Department. His responsibilities include assisting in the management of quotations and customer ordering process, while engineering designs to meet customer requirements. Pickett, a graduate with a BS Degree in mechanical engineering from the University of Akron, is certified in Solidworks CAD and Flow Simulation. This gives Nelsen Corporation the ability to provide dealers with 3D drawings and illustrations within their quotes. Pickett was most recently employed as a mechanical engineer with Vertex Water Features and is experienced in fluid dynamics and manufacturing processes. He is a member of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, South Florida Manufacturing Association and American Production and Inventory Control Society.


Water for People CEO named

Water For People (WFP) announced the appointment of Eleanor Allen, PE as the organization’s new CEO. She comes to WFP from ARCADIS, where she ran their global water business of more than $450 million (USD) as the Global Director of Water. As a professional engineer, Allen has extensive experience in water and sanitation and has built an expansive and diverse network in both the public and private sectors. She began her career in the Peace Corps as a water and sanitation volunteer in the Dominican Republic. Since then, Allen has worked around the world, leading multi-cultural teams, winning and delivering water infrastructure programs and projects and managing regional and global water businesses. Prior to joining ARCADIS, she spent 16 years at CH2M.

Crittenden to receive 2015 NWRI Clarke Prize

The National Water Research Institute (NWRI) announced that environmental engineer, John C. Crittenden, PhD, PE, NAE, CAE, Director of the Brook Byers. Institute for Sustainable Systems at Georgia Institute of Technology, will be the 22nd recipient of the NWRI Athalie Richardson Irvine Clarke Prize for excellence in water research. He is the Hightower Chair and Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar in Environmental Technologies and a professor in the School of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Georgia Tech in Atlanta, GA. With a career spanning 37 years, Crittenden has been a pioneer in the research and development of water treatment technologies, particularly physical-chemical treatment processes.

Anderson named Krones finance chief

Krones announced Michael Andersen will join the company’s Executive Board as finance chief. He possesses many years of experience in the packaging industry. Anderson is currently the CFO of GEA Heat Exchangers and as such, the member of the management board responsible for the areas of finance, IT and purchasing. He replaces former CFO Christoph Klenk, who was appointed to take over the helm as Chairman of the Executive Board, effective January 1, 2016.



NGWA Award winners announced

The National Ground Water Association (NGWA) congratulated recipients of its 2015 Awards of Excellence, Outstanding Groundwater Project Award and Divisional Awards, which will be presented this December during the Groundwater Expo in Las Vegas, NV. Former NGWA President Scott Fowler, CWD/PI, received top honors as recipient of the Ross L. Oliver Award for outstanding contributions to the groundwater industry. Fowler, President of Dahlman Pump & Well Drilling Inc., served as association President in 2008 and received the association’s Standard Bearer Award in 2012. Additional award recipients include: (Awards of Excellence) Sorab Panday, PhD, GSI Environmental Inc., M. King Hubbert Award for major science contributions to the knowledge of groundwater; Robert Cleary, PhD, Princeton Groundwater Inc., Special Recognition Award; John ‘Jack’ W. Henrich, MGWC, CVCLD, Bergerson-Caswell Inc., Standard Bearer Award. Outstanding Groundwater Project Awards were received by CDM Smith Inc., Luxor and Edfu Groundwater Lowering at Antiquity Sites, Groundwater Protection Award and Layne Christensen Co., Scavenger Well Couple for Chloride Management in Baton Rouge, LA, Groundwater Supply Award. Divisional awards went to E. Scott Bair, PhD, Keith E. Anderson Award for outstanding contributions to NGWA’s Scientists and Engineers Division; James ‘Jim’ Jackson, Alloy Machine Works, Manufacturers Division Special Recognition Award and H.A. ‘Bill; Mills, 2M Co., Supplier of the Year Award.

IDA company news

The International Desalination Association has named Raed A.I. Bashitialshaaer, PhD, Dr. Eng, Lund University in Sweden, the recipient of its 2014-15 Fellowship Award. He has worked extensively in desalination as an expert in such areas as brine discharge modeling and analysis of impacts, especially for the Middle East region. His research experience and fields of interest are environmental research; freshwater supply; cooperation between countries; water conflicts and solutions; desalination and brine discharge modeling; environmental impacts from desalination plants and wastewater management. IDA also announced new members elected to serve on the 2015-2017 Board of Directors. The Directors will be installed on September 3 and include: (Europe) Michel Canet, Gerard Canton, Carlos Cosin, Omar Abou Ibrahim and Shannon McCarthy; (Latin America-Caribbean) Emilio Gabbrielli; (Middle East-Africa) Zamzam AlRakaf, Rachid Ghamraoui, Mounib Hatab. Mohamad Jaroudi, Fady Juez, Imad Makhzoumi and Johnny Obeid; (North America) Leon Awerbuch, Doug Eisberg, Rick Stover and Nikolay Voutchkov, and (Pacific-Asia) Gary Crisp, Nobuya Fujiwara, Maurice Neo and Li Youqing. In addition, the Honorable Kevin L. Faulconer, Mayor of San Diego, joined a prestigious line-up of speakers from around the world for the IDA World Congress.


Comments are closed.