Westman appointed Interim Executive Director
The Water Quality Association Board of Governors announced in early November that it selected David Westman as the new Interim Executive Director. In this role, he will be responsible for guiding the organization and conducting a comprehensive review of WQA’s financial management, governance structures, staff functions and core processes. Westman will also serve the board as a trusted resource who will guide the association and assemble the leadership team while focusing on finding a long-term executive solution. He holds an MBA in finance and marketing from the University of Chicago and is also a Certified Public Accountant (CPA) and Certified Association Executive (CAE). While Westman serves as Interim Executive Director, the search has begun for a candidate to fill the permanent Executive Director position. The recruitment and hiring process will likely take some time, perhaps months.


IBWA board members announced

The International Bottled Water Association (IBWA) announced its 2014-2015 officers and Board of Directors, elected by IBWA members in November. Bryan Shinn (The Water Guy) was elected to serve as Chairman. He is a member of IBWA’s executive committee and Board of Directors and served as Vice Chairman in 2013 and Treasurer in 2012. Organization members also approved Joe Bell (Aqua Filter Fresh) as Vice Chairman and Breck Speed (Mountain Valley) as Immediate Past Chairman. Directors elected or re elected to the board for a three-year term expiring in 2017 include Joe Bell; Greg Nemec (Premium Waters, Inc.) and Brian Grant (Pure Flow). Other members who currently serve on the board include Philippe Caradec (Danone Waters North America); Andrew Eaton, PhD (Eurofins Eaton Analytical, Inc.); Brian Hess (Niagara Bottling LLC); Doug Hidding (Blackhawk Molding); Dave Holdener (Nicolet Forest Bottling); Scott Hoover (Roaring Spring Bottling); Dan Kelly (Polymer Solutions); Heidi Paul (Nestlé Waters North America, Inc.); Shayron Barnes-Selby (DS Services); Robert Smith (Grand Springs Distribution); Lynn Wachtmann (Maumee Valley Bottlers) and Bill Young (Absopure Water Co., Inc.).

Five NSPF promotions announced

The National Swimming Pool Foundation® (NSPF®) announced several recent promotions, including four of existing team members to newly created positions. Alex Antoniou, PhD was promoted to Chief Marketing and Information Officer, in which he will oversee and guide IT processes. Prior to NSPF, he directed all aquatic programming and supervision for Rutgers University. Michelle Kavanaugh was promoted to Mission Development Director for the US and Canada. She has worked with NSPF since 2005, managing mission development, marketing and the World Aquatic Health Conference. Silvia Uribe was promoted to Mission Development Director for all International Markets, in which she will lead all business development and customer service outside the US and Canada. She joined NSPF in February of 2008 as the Special Project Coordinator focusing on Spanish translation, interpretation and education development. Natalie Strong was promoted to Senior Customer Service Specialist and will help develop and support a cohesive customer service team, performing supervision and leadership. She has worked with NSPF since 2012 as a Customer Service and Fulfillment Specialist. Paloma Betancourt was promoted to International Mission Development Specialist, to support NSPF’s training distribution partner, APPAC in Mexico and Central and South America. Betancourt studied architecture and industrial design in both Universidad Politécnica and Universidad del Turabo.

Kunzel named to HM Digital manager position

HM Digital, Inc. announced that Brent Kunzel has joined the company as Business Development Manager, effective immediately. He will manage the marketing activities as well as coordinate the company’s growth strategies. Prior to HM Digital, Kunzel worked as a management consultant, helping a variety of businesses transform their operations. He earned his Masters of Business Administration from the University of Southern California.


AIChE 2015 officers, board announced

The American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) announced that Cheryl Teich, Reaction Engineering Expertise Area Leader at The Dow Chemical Company, will become President of the organization in 2015. President-Elect Gregory Stephanopoulos, W.H. Dow Professor of Chemical Engineering at MIT (Cambridge, MA) joins Teich on AIChE’s Board of Directors. Newly elected directors include: Alan Nelson (The Dow Chemical Company); John O’Connell, Professor Emeritus of Chemical Engineering, University of Virginia (Charlottesville); Anne Skaja Robinson, Chair of the Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Department, Tulane University (New Orleans, LA) and Sharon Robinson, senior staff member at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory (TN). AIChE Directors serve three-year terms.

WWEMA 2015 officers, directors name

The members of the Water and Wastewater Equipment Manufacturers Association (WWEMA) elected new officers and directors during its annual meeting held in November. The Executive Committee comprises: Chairman Frank Rebori (President, Smith & Loveless Inc.); Chairman-Elect Ron Port (VP, Marketing and Business Development, SPX Corporation); Vice Chairman Tammy Bernier (President, Duperon Corporation); Treasurer Mark Turpin (VP and GM, Parkson Corporation) and Immediate Past Chairman Chuck Powers (Director, Global Water Resource Industry & Product Management, Flowserve Corporation). Three members were elected to the Board of Directors: Andrew Fraher (Director of Marketing and Business Development, Xylem Inc.); Louis LeBrun (VP, Pinnacle Ozone Solutions) and Leelon Scott (Director of OEM Business Development, Revere Control Solutions). Current Chairman Chuck Powers also named Tammy Bernier as recipient of the 2014 James C. Morriss Member Achievement Award, for significant contributions to the mission of the association and to the benefit of the water and wastewater industry.


Comments are closed.