Syrgley named EWQA Director, Board of Directors announced

Dean Srygley assumed the EWQA Executive Director mantle last July. With a number of years of domestic/international marketing experience for a variety of disciplines, Srygley hopes to bring new ideas to EWQA members, including how to profit through low- or no-cost marketing solutions and to be a driving force for local legislative assistance. He has also teamed up with WQA Executive Director Dave Haataja to find legislative solutions for both organizations. Previously, Syrgley was Marketing Manager for ZyzaTech. He is also a pilot for the Delaware Civil Air Patrol, providing traffic reports and search-and-rescue support. Syrgley can be reached by phone, (302) 730-3019 or email, et. The 2013 Board of Directors began its new term January 1, 2012 and includes President Brent Golding, Harvey Salt Co.; First Vice President Brian Bayford, Water Pro; Second Vice President Marianne Metzger, National Testing Labs and Secretary Kathee Syrgley, Pentair.

Carey named Flowserve Senior VP

Flowserve Corporation announced Carey A. O’Connor has been named Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary. In her new role, she reports to President and Chief Executive Officer Mark Blinn. O’Connor joined Flowserve in January 2003 and since May 2011 has served as Vice President and Corporate Secretary. She succeeds Ron Shuff, the company’s former Senior Vice President and General Counsel.

WQA appointments announced

Dean Jarog, CWS-VI, became Laboratory Manager in December, overseeing all aspects of WQA’s analytical and product testing labs. Previously, he was Director of Research and Development at Everpure, Inc., Manager of Research, Analytical Labs and Product Registration for USFilter Consumer and Commercial Water Group, Regional Operations Manager for Pentair Filtrations Solutions (Everpure Commercial Food Service) and Manager of Applications Engineering at Pentair, Hanover Park, IL. In addition to 35 years of industry experience, Jarog holds a Master’s Degree in environmental engineering from Illinois Institute of Technology, did undergraduate work in biology and chemistry at the University of Illinois in Chicago, has several patents and has done extensive research on carbon and its application to water filtration equipment.

Tom Spoden was hired as Analytical Laboratory Supervisor, responsible for overseeing the workflow in the analytical lab. Previously, he was the Senior Laboratory Technician at Lake County Environmental Lab and GCMS Lab Analyst at Suburban Labs. Spoden earned a Bachelor of Science Degree in chemistry from the University of Illinois in Urbana/Champaign, with a focus on environmental chemistry.

Stuart Mann was appointed Sustainability Certification Supervisor. He joined WQA as a Product Certification Coordinator in early 2010. Mann earned a BS Degree in psychology from the University of Wisconsin, embarked on a 20-year musical career, then earned an MS Degree in environmental management and sustainability from the Stuart School of Business at Illinois Institute of Technology before joining WQA.

AWQA Board re-elected

The Arizona Water Quality Association announced its members have re-elected five directors to three-year terms. Board members include President Doug Oberhamer, Culligan, Phoenix; Vice President Leigh DeGrave; SecretaryTreasurer Marc Nolan, Nomac Water; Dave Crissman, All About Water; Russ Harrison, Kinetico and Dallan Randall, JB Water.




Comments are closed.