Hydrotech’s Roberts promoted, Taft added

Hydrotech® promoted Ed Roberts, CWS-V, to Director of Global Markets and added David Taft as National Sales Manager. Roberts has nearly 20 years of experience on the Hydrotech leadership team and his continuing focus on international markets will accelerate the company’s overseas expansion. He has also been instrumental in global sales growth. Taft brings 20 years of national marketing and sales experience in water treatment. In his new position, he will be responsible for driving dealer sales growth and leading Hydrotech’s team of regional managers across the US. Taft is a past member of the Board of Directors of the Eastern Water Quality Association and also served on the Advisory Board of Water Technology magazine.

Maine student named SJWP Winner

Rebecca Ye (Bangor, ME) was named US winner of the 2010 Stockholm Junior Water Prize (SJWP). Her project was selected from more than 40 state winners at the national competition held in St. Louis, MO in June. Ye’s work, Nanoparticleamplified immunosensor enables excellent sensitivity in rapid detection of viable E. coli O157:H7, combines microbiology and nanotechnology to create a biosensor capable of rapid identification of strains of the pathogenic bacteria E. coli. Ye received $3,000 (USD) and an all-expense paid trip to Stockholm, Sweden, where she will compete against national winners from more than 30 countries for the international honor during World Water Week, September 5-11. Ye’s school (Bangor High School) will receive a $1,000 grant toward enhancing water science education, and she will have the opportunity to present her research to thousands of water quality professionals at WEFTEC® 2010 this October in New Orleads, LA. Three US finalists, Akshar Wunnava (Chantilly, VA), April Choi (Glen Rock, NJ) and Collin McAliley (Melbourne Beach, FL), each received a $1,000 award.

Reynolds making news

Kelly A. Reynolds, MSPH, Ph.D., Associate Professor at the Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health, University of Arizona, was recently involved in a one-of-a-kind study of Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) in the firefighter environment. The study team found high levels of MRSA bacteria on couches, class desks and commonly touched surfaces in Tucson Fire Department offices. Prompted by these results, firefighters now are taking strict prevention measures, and UA researchers involved in the study have developed an on-line training program to help firefighters across the country recognize and prevent MRSA infections. The research, published in the June issue of the American Journal of Infection Control, is (to date) the only published study on MRSA contamination of fire stations in scientific literature. Dr. Reynolds is also WC&P’s Public Health Editor and author of the monthly On Tap column.

NGWA scholarships awarded

The National Ground Water Research and Educational Foundation (NGWREF) has awarded a total of $17,500 (USD) to 10 students from its Len Assante Scholarship Fund. Taylor Dahike of Walnut Creek, CA and Mitchell Olds of Kimberly, WI are co-recipients of the Past President’s Award, the top scholarship presented to the most qualified of the applicants. Both are studying hydrogeology—Dahike at the University of California, Berkeley and Olds at the University of Wisconsin, Stevens Point. Each received $2,500. The other recipients are: Aana Taylor-Smith of Greensboro, NC, $2,500; Alejandra Contreras Nava of Thornton, CO, $2,000; Andrew Karleigh of West Bend, WI, $2,000; Audrey Mohr of New Ulm, MN, $2,000; David Aguinaga of Garland, TX, $1,000; Simarjit Chehal of Bakersfield, CA, $1,000; Richard Gurevich of San Diego, CA, $1,000 and William Mackebee of Knoxville, TN, $1,000. This marks the 33rd year in which scholarship awards have been made. Since its inception, the program has supported nearly 200 students in their pursuit of education.

Mantua named AWWA

Joseph Mantua, a Black & Veatch client services manager and 26-year industry veteran, accepted the AWWA gavel and ascended as association President at ACE10. Calling for water industry leaders to “be bold, take chances,” Mantua pledged to facilitate a smooth transition for AWWA’s new executive director, David LaFrance; complete several association projects already in motion; enhance member value, and build relationships and strategic partnerships with other organizations. He has been an active member of the organization’s Chesapeake Section since 1987 and also served on AWWA’s Board of Directors and as Vice President for the past year. Mantua received the Malcolm Shaneman Quality of Life Award from the Maryland National Capital Building Industry Association in 2005 and AWWA’s George Warren Fuller Award in 2006.

PMI Chair named

Plumbing Manufacturers Institute (PMI) President Lee Mercer of Moen Incorporated announced his selection for a new co-chair to help lead PMI’s Fair Trade Committee. Mike Douglass, Manager of Faucet Engineering for Elkay Manufacturing Company, will serve alongside existing co-chair, Dale Gallmann, Product Compliance Manager for Bradley Corporation. While effective immediately, the three-year term for this position officially begins with the 2010 PMI Fall Meeting, being held in Washington, DC, October 3-6. Mercer’s decision to appoint Douglass was based upon PMI meeting attendance, leadership, expertise and overall commitment to PMI.


Comments are closed.