Water Conditioning & Purification Magazine


Clark hired at IAPMO Oceana
The IAPMO Group announced the hiring of Graham Clark as Operations Manager of IAPMO Oceana, a new position within the organization. He is an engineering professional with 13 years of experience as a business and team leader. Prior to joining IAPMO Oceana, Clark spent four years with Rheem Australia, most recently as R&D Manager. Previously he was R&D Manager for CAMEC and Development Engineer for Davey Water Products. A graduate of Monash University in Melbourne, Clark holds dual Bachelor’s Degrees in engineering and commerce.

Sanderson named WEF Medical Officer
To ensure protection of the health and safety of wastewater workers during the coronavirus pandemic and into the future, Andrew Sanderson, MD, MPH of Howard University has been named Chief Medical Officer for WEF. He will guide and assist the organization in providing reliable medical information to wastewater utility managers and workers, as well as conduct research and serve as a spokesperson on medical issues for the sector. A gastroenterologist with Weatherby Healthcare, Sanderson is also an Associate Professor at Howard University. His previous positions include medical officer at the US Department of Health and Human Services, fellow at Harvard Medical School and Chief of the Division of Gastroenterology at Howard University Hospital. Sanderson received his Master in Public Health from Harvard University, Doctor of Medicine from Howard University and Bachelor of Science in biology from Morehouse College.

ACS honorees named
The American Chemical Society (ACS) has selected Paul Alivisatos, PhD, of the University of California (UC), Berkeley as the recipient of the 2021 Priestley Medal, the Society’s highest honor. The Samsung Distinguished Professor in Nanoscience and Nanotechnology Research and Professor of chemistry and materials science and engineering at UC Berkeley, he is being recognized for “foundational contributions to the chemistry of nanoscience, development of nanocrystals as nanotechnology building blocks and leadership in the chemistry and nanoscience communities.”

Mary Engelman will receive the ACS 2021 Award for Volunteer Service, presented annually to recognize the volunteer efforts of individuals who have served ACS by contributing significantly to the goals and objectives of the society. Engelman is being honored for her efforts in increasing public awareness of chemistry, mentoring young scientists and leading society activities.

AWWA President named, members appointed to boards
Melissa Elliott began her one-year term as President of the American Water Works Association (AWWA) during a gavel-passing ceremony at AWWA headquarters. She is Director of Strategic Communication Services at Raftelis, where she consults with utilities across the United States. Elliott has been an AWWA member for over 15 years, during which time she has served as Chair of the Public Affairs Council. She has also served as Trustee and Chair of AWWA’s Rocky Mountain Section. Two AWWA leaders have been appointed to the boards of non-profit water organizations. CEO David LaFrance has been appointed to the Board of Water Education Colorado (WEco) and Tracy Mehan, Executive Director of Government Affairs, was elected to the River Network Board of Directors. LaFrance’s term with WEco began in January. Mehan’s term with River Network officially begins October 1.

US Junior Prize winners announced
WEF announced Zoe Gotthold the winner of the 2020 US Stockholm Junior Water Prize, the nation’s most prestigious youth competition for water-related research. A student at Richland High School (Richland, WA), she developed prototypes of devices that promote oil flocculation at the surface and increase the efficacy of traditional oil-spill remediation techniques. Gotthold won $10,000 and will represent the United States at the international competition. The two US runners-up were Emily Tianshi (CA) and Emma Price (MO), who each received $1,000. Ishraq Haque (SC) received the Bjorn von Euler Innovation in Water Scholarship Award from Xylem Inc. Beatrice Youd (WI) received the James L. Condon Recognition for Environmental Stewardship.

‘Doc’ Nowlin, industry pioneer, mourned
Duane ‘Doc’ Nowlin, PhD, passed away June 15 in New Brighton, MN at the age of 83. A much-revered water treatment industry professional, he made a mark on the industry that cannot be matched. Nowlin spent countless hours serving the industry on numerous WQA science and technical committees, the Board of Directors and Board of Governors, WQRF and as a frequent presenter at WQA conventions. He also served on the US EPA Drinking Water Advisory Council and as a member of the American Chemical Society and American Water Works Association.
Nowlin served as 1988-89 WQA President and chaired the WQRF Board in 1991. Prior to his 2002 retirement, Nowlin was Senior VP of Science & Technology and Chief Scientist for EcoWater, where he had spent most of his career (including at the affiliated Lindsay Co. or Spectrum Labs). As a result of his intense involvement in the industry, Nowlin was honored multiple times throughout his career. In 1977, he received the WQA Award of Merit, followed in 1986 by the Key Award. In 1995, Nowlin received WQA’s highest honor, the Hall of Fame Award, followed by the WQA Lifetime Achievement Award in 2002.
Nowlin was preceded in death by his son, Carl and parents, Clarice ‘Sue’ and Denver ‘Shorty’ Nowlin. He is survived by his wife, Esther, sons David (Alba) and Mark, as well as six grandchildren. A Celebration of Life is to be held at a later date. In lieu of flowers, please make a donation to the charity of your choice.

©2021 EIJ Company LLC, All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy | tucson website design by Arizona Computer Guru